Skip to Content

Highland faculty and staff receive Excellence and Service Awards

 Highland Community College employees joined fellow colleagues on January 5, 2017, to honor individuals receiving 2016 Excellence Awards, Opel Award, and years of Service Awards. The awards recognize employees for quality work, and others for their years of service.

2016 Excellence Award and Opel Award recipients

The awards recognize employees for quality work, creativity, honesty, integrity, self-development, and excellence in their professional relationshipsA committee made up of Excellence Awards recipients from the previous two years and the College’s Executive Vice President selected the winners in the following categories: full-time faculty, full-time administrative/professional staff, full-time classified staff, and part-time employee of any category.

Full-time Faculty: Tracy Mays of Forreston, English and German Instructor

Full-time Administrative/Professional Staff: Christie Lewis of Forreston, Coordinator, Staff Development and HRIS

Full-time Classified Staff: Bill Buehler of Freeport, Fine Arts Assistant

Part-time Employee: Claire Brinkmeier of Pearl City, Training Coordinator for the Business Institute

Opel Award: The Highland Community College Foundation annually recognizes one employee with the Opel Award, named for one of the Foundation’s founders, Don Opel. The award recognizes employees who serve and promote the College. This year the Foundation presented the award to Biology Instructor, Juliet Moderow of Freeport.

The 2016 Service Award Recipients

Five Years: Arnold Clark of Freeport, Receiving/Shipping/Warehouse Clerk; Ellen Conway of Lena, Student Accounts Specialist II; Brendan Dutmer of Freeport, Interim Associate Dean, Natural Science & Math; Tim Hood of Freeport, President; Jessica Larson of Freeport, Nursing Instructor; Brian Moore of Freeport, Coordinator, Learning Services

Ten Years: Kathy Bangasser of Subula, Iowa, Director, Financial Aid; Mark Jansen of Freeport, Director, Adult Education Programs; Juliet Moderow of Freeport, Biology Instructor

Fifteen Years: Beth Groshans of Freeport, Coordinator, Women’s Athletics; Jill Janssen of Shannon, Vice President, Administrative Services; Jim Palmer of Stockton, Automotive Technology Instructor

Twenty Years: Liz Gerber of Lena, Vice President, Student Development and Support Services; Tony Grahame of Pearl City, Biology Instructor; Steve Mihina of Freeport, Math Instructor; Rhonda Perry of Stockton, Executive Assistant; Dawn Switzer of Lena, Secretary

Twenty-Five Years: Allen Redford of Freeport, Music Instructor

For more information on the Excellence Awards visit HERE.

Photo of Claire Brinkmeier, Bill Buehler, Juliet Moderow, and Tracy Mays

Left to right: Claire Brinkmeier, Bill Buehler, Juliet Moderow, Tracy Mays.













Photo of Associate Vice President of Human Resources Rose Ferguson, Christie Lewis, and Highland President Tim Hood

Left to right: Associate Vice President of Human Resources Rose Ferguson, Christie Lewis, and Highland President Tim Hood.

















2998 W. Pearl City Road
Freeport, IL 61032-9341